Am I the only one who doesn't collect a lot of vintage SW these days but is still neck deep in the hobby?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Am I the only one who doesn't collect a lot of vintage SW these days but is still neck deep in the hobby?  Empty Am I the only one who doesn't collect a lot of vintage SW these days but is still neck deep in the hobby?

Post by ChristianC Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:07 pm

Just curious if anyone else on the forum is in the same boat? In the past year I've probably bought one loose figure and a couple of bootlegs. I've been collecting for four years and the first three were pretty crazy when it came to spending. I amassed a pretty large Luke focus, learnt everything I could etc etc but these days, the social side of collecting is what is keeping me the hobby. I still post on/moderate this forum, check the FB groups, listen to podcasts, share stuff on my blog and go to conventions. But I'm not that interested in really adding anything to my collection at the moment. It's  funny because I've seen so many people stop collecting and then disappear from the hobby. I don't get it. I would still be friends with all you guys if I stopped collecting.

So why has this happened? I don't really know. I guess it is a combo of me building a collection that I'm pretty happy with, with the fact that prices have skyrocketing and I'm a bit turned off by the greed and desperation I see around me. I'm also busy with other projects (writing a novel and writing a comic book series) so I guess being able to trawl ebay is a real luxury at the moment timewise.

I'm pretty sure this will pass though and I'll be backing buying at some point. I'm not turned off the hobby, just the buying Smile

What about you dudes?
ChristianC
ChristianC
Tatooine Taisho

Yavin Honor : 6843
Focus : Luke Skywalker (all outfits) - MOC, loose variants and bootlegs

http://vintagestarwarscollectors.com

Back to top Go down